Free Book Online
Book Beauty Like the Night: Spymaster 6 (A series of sweeping, passionate historical romance)

Pdf

Beauty Like the Night: Spymaster 6 (A series of sweeping, passionate historical romance)

4.4 (3346)

Log in to rate this item

    Available in PDF - DJVU Format | Beauty Like the Night: Spymaster 6 (A series of sweeping, passionate historical romance).pdf | Language: ENGLISH
    Joanna Bourne(Author)

    Book details


In Beauty Like The Night, Joanna Bourne, 'master of romance and suspense' (Teresa Medeiros) returns to the French Revolution, with a stirring tale of intrigue, espionage, and irresistible attraction. For fans of Stephanie Laurens, Elizabeth Hoyt For fans of Stephanie Laurens, Elizabeth Hoyt and Poldark, this is a must-read.

Severine de Cabrillac, orphan of the French revolution and sometime British intelligence agent, has tried to leave spying behind her. Now she devotes herself to investigating crimes in London and finding justice for the wrongly accused.

Raoul Deverney, an enigmatic half-Spaniard with enough secrets to earn even a spy's respect, is at her door demanding help. She's the only one who can find the killer of his long-estranged wife and rescue her missing fourteen-year-old daughter.

Severine reluctantly agrees to aid him, even though she knows the growing attraction between them makes it more than unwise. Their desperate search for the girl unleashes treason and murder...and offers a last chance for two strong, wounded people to find love.

For more spellbinding Spymasters romance, look for the other titles by Joanna Bourne: The Forbidden Rose, The Spymaster's Lady, My Lord and Spymaster, The Black Hawk and Rogue Spy.

Every word, every page, is a wonder (All About Romance)A master wordsmith, able to charm, excite or break a reader's heart with the stroke of her pen (Dear Author)Intriguing, refreshing and rewarding (Library Journal)Clear your schedule - once you start reading, you won't be able to stop! (Romantic Times)

3.5 (7136)
  • Pdf

*An electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.

Formats for this Ebook

PDF
Required Software Any PDF Reader, Apple Preview
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch.
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Pages
Printable? Yes

Book details

  • PDF | 304 pages
  • Joanna Bourne(Author)
  • Headline Eternal (1 Aug. 2017)
  • English
  • 10
  • Romance

Read online or download a free book: Beauty Like the Night: Spymaster 6 (A series of sweeping, passionate historical romance)

 

Review Text

  • By Norman of Manchester on 8 August 2017

    After the previous books in this series, all of which are truly excellent, I have to say that this one was a bit of a bring-down. All was trotting along nicely until it got to the sex scene, at which point I switched from enthralled reader to avenging editor, swiping with my red pen and muttering 'stfu; get on with it' as our hero rabbited on in unacceptably purple prose and basically it all turned into a damp squib. Such a shame; and unexpected, given the author's usual mastery of such scenes.Although subsequent scenes/events were better, and Doyle and Hawker were splendid as ever, the whole thing could have benefited greatly from much more thorough copy editing - I was particularly bothered by Bart Markham being described identically, and at length, at the beginning of two separate chapters; surely somebody could have picked that up?But all that having been said, this was an enjoyable read, with Ms Bourne's customary wit and elegance much to the fore, and her writing does knock spots off that of nearly everybody else in this genre. So I recommend it - but with reservations.

  • By Loves Reading on 2 August 2017

    An enthralling book that keeps your attention from beginning to end, leaving you wanting to know what happens to minor characters and breathlessly waiting for the next book. You don't have to have read the previous books in the series but it helps if you have, helps you settle the heroine into her place in the family of spies, plus the romance and intrigue that has gone on before.

  • By East End Lady on 2 August 2017

    This is a really enjoyable book. Once you embark on a Spymaster novel you cannot put it down. The book commences with a burglary and things happen thick and fast. We meet many old characters Hawk , Doyle and Lazarus and some intriguing new ones and all of them live on a knife's edge. You can feel like someone immersed in the double-dealing world of espionage.

  • By Susan on 17 August 2017

    I love Joanna Bourne's writing style: crisp and original - brings the characters to life. Her Spymaster series is excellent- and the same high standard of writing throughout. Original and utterly engaging

  • By avidreader on 6 August 2017

    This book is quite a bit different from the others in the series - Severine has been around since 'the Forbidden Rose', chronologically the first in the series, and in this she is a 28 year old woman; I think this is the first book featuring the Meek Street characters where spies and spying are not directly central to the story. As usual, the author writes wonderful prose and dialogue - I always love her similes, metaphors and her descriptive powers.In this book, Severine ran away when she was, I presume, a teenager, to forge her own life working for Military Intelligence in Europe, without telling her parents, and has returned and set up as a type of detective, someone who champions the cause of the underdog and puts wrongs to right. She is fiercely independent, but has a loyal group who look out for her - the spies she grew up with, of course, plus Lazarus and his street rats and her own self-appointed bodyguard. When Raoul approaches her to find his daughter [it is, of course, not as simple as that!] they feel an almost instant mutual attraction which they both find inconvenient. How the author pulls together the various threads, and allows Sevie and Raoul their happiness is cleverly done, as always with this author.There were a few loose ends which were probably intentional, or maybe I missed something! There was reference to Maggie and Justine going to Scotland to help Sylvie when her baby was due - but I don't remember Sylvie, or that she went to live in Scotland! However, that is mere detail and not pertinent to the story.I have read that this is the end of the series, and I can imagine that it would stop here. However, I know the author wrote the earlier books out of sequence so who knows?

  • By Zarah on 7 September 2017

    I believe this is my first Joanna Bourne novel. I generally avoid historical novels of this ilk, especially if they have a romantic component. I so often can't stomach the gender politics in them. But this one came to me along with a friend's recommendation. So, I gave it a try and was pleasantly surprised. It's the sort of book in which the hero respectfully things like this:One did not, he suspected, write poems to Severine's eyebrows. One slew dragons for her, or stood slightly to the left, holding her spare lance and buckler, while she did the slaying.This is a male/female relationship I can appreciate. What's more, the sort of man who will allow a woman that power is the sort I want to read about, and the woman who inspires such thoughts in a heroine I'm interested in getting to know.I did find the language too purple and flowery at times, especially around the romance/sex. And as much as I loved the sarcasm and repartee, it did go overboard at times, making everyone sound quite similar. All in all, however, if all of Bourne's work is in this vein, I'm up for a lot more.Note: I received the book as a gift from a friend. I chose to read and review it.


  • Name:
    Email*:
    The message text*: