Free Book Online
Book Small Fish Big Fish: a coming of age novel

Pdf

Small Fish Big Fish: a coming of age novel

3.2 (3399)

Log in to rate this item

    Available in PDF - DJVU Format | Small Fish Big Fish: a coming of age novel.pdf | Language: ENGLISH
    P J McDermott(Author)

    Book details


Small Fish Big Fish: Coming of Age in Scotland

The year is 1965. Sonny and Cher's I Got You Babe is number one on the charts; the first US combat troops have arrived in Vietnam, and American and Soviet astronauts are orbiting the Earth.

Seventeen-year-old Stephen McBride is struggling to find his place in this exciting world. Besieged by surging hormones, protective parents and imminent college exams, he's starting to question the existence of God and thinks some people are just plain evil.

People like Archie Stewart for instance.

Stewart has a long-standing score to settle with Stephen. His chance to get even arrives when he spots the younger boy spending money like a millionaire at the fairground. The resulting confrontation sparks a chain of events that propels Stephen unwillingly down a path of criminality and deception—one he finds increasingly difficult to leave.

Stephen must set aside his fears, choose what's important to him, and decide what sort of person he wants to become. But suddenly there's no time and no choices left.

A page-turning tale that adults and young adults alike will enjoy. Fans of Angel's Ashes, Jasper Jones, and Jimmy Barnes' Working Class Boy will love it.

Scroll up and download your copy of this inspiring story today. An e-book version is also available.

2.3 (9213)
  • Pdf

*An electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.

Formats for this Ebook

PDF
Required Software Any PDF Reader, Apple Preview
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch.
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Pages
Printable? Yes

Book details

  • PDF | 296 pages
  • P J McDermott(Author)
  • Patrick McDermott Publishing; 2 edition (14 April 2016)
  • English
  • 5
  • Crime, Thrillers & Mystery

Read online or download a free book: Small Fish Big Fish: a coming of age novel

 

Review Text

  • By Guest on 13 April 2017

    Typical story of what was going on in that area of Paisley at the time, what spoiled the read was the " Americanisins " and American spelling littered throughout the book . Seems a strange format for a story about Paisley.

  • By readbetweenthelines on 25 July 2017

    This is one of, if not the, most badly written and poorly researched books I have tried to read. It is so error strewn it is difficult to know where to start and how to make constructive criticism. It is appallingly obvious that the author has tried to write about a subject with which he has very little acquaintance. Having lived in Ferguslie Park as a schoolboy he tries to write about the experiences of a much older and more developed group of youths and is left floundering by his lack of knowledge. His style of writing is that of a middle class adult trying to pretend he was once one of the young team, but it is painfully obvious that he never was. He completely fails to understand any of the group dynamics of a young gang. His grasp of police procedure is poor, so poor that he doesn't know that the Crown Prosecution Service to which he refers does not exist in Scotland....Only in England and Wales. Scottish criminal trials are prosecuted by the COPFS. Never in my life have I heard a tenement referred to as a block of tenements, as he does. Skinny Malinky Larky had "big banana feet" . Stephen told the police (never referred to as cops in the 60s) that Archie opened the safe but in the chapter on the robbery the shop owner knelt down and opened the safe. Kids in Paisley or any part of Scotland have never referred to a game of "soccer".I could go on and on but I won't waste your time in the way this book wasted mine. Not sure how this author can claim No 1 Best Selling Author status as the book blurb claims.I was brought up on a Glasgow housing scheme in the 60s and so I know how things work.....sadly the author of this "book" doesn't. He has relied on the use of a few song titles from the 60s to try to establish his grasp of the times.It only my got one star because I couldn't give it none.

  • By MCGSB on 18 January 2015

    My first impression first: the creation of the bully and the victim of bullying is brilliant. Next, I thoroughly enjoyed the time period and location. I’m old enough to remember a little of the 60s. This book took me there. I also grew up in an underprivileged neighbourhood. This book dragged me back there too. The quality of the storytelling blotted out the here and now completely. Those are the aspects of this novel I want to praise highly. The story itself is solid and quite intriguing. It’s raw and violent, and has plenty going for it. A terrific array of characters brought to life – they feel real. It’s like the whole novel is neither under nor overstated. Just real… I’d recommend reading a sample and seeing if you can put it down.

  • By Anna Fantabulous on 9 January 2015

    Carlisle’s story is fixed around a bunch of teenage boys and girls growing up in a small Scottish district circa 1965. There’s the lead protagonist 17-year old Stephen, studying for a degree in civil engineering with a best friend named D’Angelo. Stephen is dating 16-year old Julie but has a one-off fling with Trish, the slutty sister of Stephen’s nemesis - 19-year old Archie, the blond hell-raiser frequently involved in petty thefts and crime with his pals Neil and Johnny who beat up Stephen every now and then. Julie is Daniel’s sister, a gang member, who went to jail taking rap for a crime Archie committed. Other bad eggs include Pete and Harry who hate Archie’s guts and power. Archie is the most vividly written character in the story, a boy raised in a dysfunctional poverty-stricken direction-less abusive household, whose real father may or may not be Stephen’s own dad (!) and he is secretly dating the ill-fated Tianyi Chi, 15-year old Chinese girl who lost her entire family in a boating accident coming from China. Hers is the most fascinating (and incredibly sad) journey in the long list of teenagers whose lives, pasts and presents are explored in bloody moving detail in this 282 page tome to what it means to be a small fish in a big pond.The lives of everyone involved are changed forever after a murder. One-half of the story leads up to it. The other-half leads to the conclusion from it. At the heart of it is the lesson to take risks, be brave and do the right thing when it matters most. That is what growing up is all about.A story well told.I received a free copy of the book in exchange for a fair, unbiased and non-reciprocal review.

  • By K. Kumar on 3 April 2015

    Small Fish Big Fish is an absorbing, well crafted novel that follows Stephen as he navigates through a series of difficult obstacles placed before him. There are a number of memorable characters that enter the story: D, Julie, Archie, and many others, and I found that as the story moved along I became more invested in the outcome of the plot and the fate of the characters.This is not a novel I would normally read, but as a testament to the great work of the author, I really became engrossed in the story. I felt invested in Stephen throughout the story, and what drew me in were the different layers the author weaved into the plot, ranging from philosophy, violence, immigration, and love. Small Fish Big Fish is an ambitious story, and the author does a very impressive job in tying the different elements together.If there was a minor criticism I had of the novel, it was that at times I felt the characterization of Stephen was a little confusing. I could see the author was trying to show how disparate and chained events led Stephen on the wrong path, but it also seemed to me that at times Stephen was incredibly naive. He seemed to be educated and brought up well, and so I struggled a bit with understanding some of his actions, especially involving Archie.Overall, Small Fish Big Fish is an excellent novel, both entertaining and thought provoking.


  • Name:
    Email*:
    The message text*: